What’s in a name?

The nickname I chose when I created my WordPress account was “Open Minded Observer”.  It still is at the time of this writing.  I liked it.  I thought it captured qualities about me that were relevant to my presence within the WordPress ecosystem.

However, recently a few people have commented that I may not be as “open-minded” as my nickname implies.  While I am a big fan of irony, I did not intend for my name to be ironic when I chose it.  I think I actually believed that I was completely open-minded and intended to simply observe the world around me in order to grow.  Well, it turns out the name is probably more of a goal than a representation of where I’m currently at.  The irony here is that I’m open-minded enough to accept the observations of others regarding my own lack of open-mindedness.

Yep, it seems like I have opinions.  I guess I always knew that.  In fact, the “Open Minded” part of my nickname was meant to show that I’m open to changing those opinions.  So, then it must be the “Observer” part that is the real issue.  A true “Open Minded Observer” would not express any opinions.  I would simply hold those opinions and observe the opinions of others while remaining open to changing my own.  That’s a real challenge.  Growth can come through discourse and the exchange of ideas.

I’d say that maybe an observer could also highlight facts to assist others with their discourse, but it seems that facts aren’t quite what they used to be anymore.  There’s basically no perceived difference between a fact and a “fact” (with air quotes).  That’s something Stephen Colbert pointed out years ago when he coined the word “truthiness”.  I do like being helpful though… even if sometimes that turns out to be “helpful” (also in air quotes).

Anyway, I’ll remain committed to my name as something to strive for even though I acknowledge its inaccuracy and possible irony.  Thanks to those that pointed it out.

About Open Minded Observer

Smart enough to know I don't know anything but naive enough to think I can learn.
This entry was posted in Other Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

